January 19

We Are Nonfiction Readers

Nonfiction seems to be the genre of book that gets the least amount of recognition. However, as it turns out in our class, we can’t seem to get enough of it! We love getting to choose nonfiction books and learn new things about topics of our choice.

Reading nonfiction is a bit different from reading fiction. In nonfiction, we don’t always have to read the text from cover to cover. Instead, we may only choose to read certain sections of the book, depending on what we want to learn about. Using the table of contents and index can help us with this.

In fiction, we read the whole book because the story has a beginning, middle, and an ending. We would miss out on important information about the characters and plot if we only read certain chapters.

We’ve learned about many of the text features that nonfiction uses including:

  • table of contents
  • index
  • glossary
  • photographs or pictures with captions
  • diagrams
  • a change in font style (bold words, highlighted words)
  • and many more!

When reading nonfiction, we need to slow down and use the text features to help us understand what we are reading. Have a look below at some of our classmates sharing something new they learned from their nonfiction book.

 

 


Posted January 19, 2017 by MrsS in category Reading Workshop, Teacher Talk

4 thoughts on “We Are Nonfiction Readers

  1. Ava Y

    Hi Mrs. Sullivan,
    Its Ava Y again,
    I just thought of more books to add to the library.
    here is some books I think you should add.
    -kittens
    -I spy
    – lions
    – zebras
    mostly animal books.
    see you at school!
    Ava Y

    Reply
  2. Ava Y

    Its Ava Y,
    I love reading nonfiction books!
    I also like fiction books, but I love nonfiction books too!
    My favorite nonfiction book I read was animal families. My favorite animal I learned about was all types of cats!
    I love reading nonfiction books!

    From, Ava Y

    Reply
    1. MrsS (Post author)

      Hi Ava,
      I like nonfiction too, especially when it pertains to travel. Animal Families is a fantastic nonfiction book. I’m glad you enjoyed it. What other nonfiction books do you think we should add to our library?
      Enjoy the weekend,
      Mrs. S

      Reply
      1. Ava Y

        Hi Mrs.Sullivan,
        Its Ava Y,
        I think you should add some more kitten books.
        I love kittens!
        See you back at school!
        Ava Y

        Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*