December 12

Working with Cubes

Linking cubes aren’t just for primary students! We’ve been using them to grow our understanding of volume and 3D solids for the past week now. We’ve been building boxes as well as looking at pictures of cubes that are put together to make certain shapes, and then we have to build what we see! It’s not always so easy!

In the pictures below, we were asked to guess how many cubes would fill the box based on the box’s net and a picture of the box. Then, we had to build the net out of grid paper and put the cubes inside to see if our original predictions were correct.


Posted December 12, 2011 by MrsS in category Math

8 thoughts on “Working with Cubes

  1. Kaitlyn

    I like the pictures of us linking cubes! That was lot’s of fun. I liked quick images, where we have 3-5 seconds to look at the stucture, then try and build it using the cubes! The one we did today was a little tricky, but fun to figure out! I agree it’s not just for primary kids, in fact for me it really helps me see what it really is. Which I know helps other people understand better. I can’t wait to use them next math class! (If we are) 🙂

    Reply
  2. Meghan

    Hello! I remember doing something really close to that in 5th grade! I wish I could see you again Miss B. I also love the theme you have for Christmas time. I wish we could do our book exchange again so we can have more fun and see you again. Our break is coming up so fast, and Olympic day is just as fast! I wish to see you soon and I will tell everyone of the blog so they can comment too. Type you later!!
    Meghan

    Reply
    1. missb (Post author)

      Meghan,
      It is so good to hear from you. I hope you are well and enjoying your year! Merry Christmas!
      Miss B.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*