March 23

Thank You, Mr. Falker

Social issues are all around us…from bullying to dealing with loss.

We’ve been learning about social issues in our Reading Workshop

classes by reading in book clubs. One of the books we read aloud

was called Thank You, Mr. Falker by Patricia Pollaco which deals with

the issue of fitting in and illiteracy.

Have you read this book before? If not, it’s such a great book to read

on your own, or with your class! Actually, if you click on this link, you will be directed to a website where celebrities read books to you…

and guess what? Thank You, Mr. Falker is one of them! Check it out!

Here is a book trailer I made to introduce you to the book in case

you haven’t read it yet!

Happy Reading!

Miss B.

Thank You Mr.Falker A Book Trailer on PhotoPeach


Posted March 23, 2012 by MrsS in category 2011-2012 Posts

2 thoughts on “Thank You, Mr. Falker

  1. Jacobs

    Miss B,
    When I read this book for the first time I did not think that the bully had the right to do what he did. If I was the person getting bullied, then I would have told the teacher that I was being bullied. I have experienced being bullied when I was younger at school.
    See you on Monday,
    Jacob

    Reply
  2. stavroulajv6

    I remember when we read “Thank You Mr. Falker”-it was a great book! It taught me that you should never give up (persevere) no matter what anybody else says, and to follow your heart. Even if you think you aren’t good/perfect at something, it doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t try again…and again…or as many times as you need to do it to reach your very-own standards.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*