November 23

WEIRD=AWESOME!

Hi Bloggers!

What do you get when you have tuxedos, a guitar, piano, drums, a Highland dance and a couple of guys spreading an important message?? You get “The Acoustic Opera” of course!

Our school experienced a real treat today as Blake and Dave, 2 very talented singers, musicians, and entertainers from Toronto, delivered their message of acceptance and celebration of weirdness! They call themselves “The Acoustic Opera”.

I know–you must be thinking…we should celebrate being weird? Well, we are all weird…or different…in some way! That’s what makes the world so interesting! Imagine if everyone was the same–how BORING life would be. Dave and Blake were trying to tell us that we shouldn’t put down others just because they are different–but rather, we should compliment others and celebrate our unique qualities! Puting people down by saying things like:

                                 You’re a loser!

Don’t be such a wimp!  

I don’t want you on my team!  

Geek.

doesn’t make anyone feel good. Why not spend your energy lifting people up? Their message isn’t new. You’ve probably heard your parents or teachers say, “Treat others the way you want to be treated”. That’s the “golden rule” right? But, today that message should have really sunk in with all the singing, actions, live music, drumming, and Highland dancing! I thought they were very effective, didn’t you?

Remember, you’re awesome because you’re different! Celebrate that.

 

 

 



Posted November 23, 2012 by MrsS in category 2012-2013 Posts, Teacher Talk

13 thoughts on “WEIRD=AWESOME!

  1. gabriellejv6

    Dear MissB,

    Dave and Blake were so funny they made me laugh so hard. My favourit part was when Dave and Blake told us we were weird.

    Because there were a part of the school saying what is going on, and another goup saying were not weird you are, and the last group said yaaaaaaa!I was one person saying yaaaaaaaa!

    Reply
  2. Andreia

    Miss B,
    I thought the assembly was really funny. My favorite part was when they talked about us being weird and what our reactions were. What was your favorite part? I had a lot of fun at the assembly.

    Andreia

    Reply
  3. Emma

    Dear AWESOME Miss B and Class,
    I really enjoyed the two men from the opera. I didn’t think the assembly/performance would be so cool. The part I liked most was when they sang Firework and when Dave sang a song in Italian.

    From AWESOME Emma.

    Reply
  4. Hunter

    Hello, I really enjoyed this, at first I thought why is the princeple making us listen to opra, but after we did it I was looking for the princeple to thank, it has happened to me in the past years but now that I am at our school I can be myself not always trying to act rough all the time when I dont want to. from, Hunter

    Reply
  5. t.k.n

    Dear miss Bulsza and class,
    I loved the assembly. I thought that it was cool when they told us that we are weird because I knew I was weird but never thought of it as a good thing. They had a lot of good reasoning for their opinions I thought. I hope they can come back.
    by: T.K.N

    Reply
  6. Matthew A.

    Hey Miss B.

    I really enjoyed the assembly because they sent out a positive message in a positive and fun way. I enjoyed the stories they told about football and the chimney sweep dance when they were younger. I found it really interesting.

    Matt

    Reply
  7. Stephen

    Dear Miss B,
    Great assembly, I thought Dave and Blake were really fun. My favourite part was when they sang the opera. I also liked when they told us about their childhood. THANKS!
    From Stephen

    Reply
  8. Maria Alejandra

    dear Miss B.

    I really enjoyed the assembly. It was fun and funny. I liked everything they did. Dave and Blake each gave us good advice that would help.

    from: Maria Alejandra.

    Reply
  9. Claire

    Dear Miss B and class,
    I had an amazing time at the assembly! It was so fun! The guys were so funny. They got the massage out a fun and intractive way! I don’t have a favourite part, I liked it all!
    From, Claire

    Reply
  10. mariana

    dear Miss.B,

    I thought the asembely was fun and awsome.My favourite part was when dave danced.I really liked having them come into our school.

    sincerly,
    mariana

    Reply
  11. colin

    Dear Miss B,

    I liked the assembly because I thought Dave and Blake were funny and I thought the music was good. I also thought the dance was awkward but it was cool that they used the wooden box as their drum.

    From, Colin

    Reply
  12. nick

    Dear Miss B,

    That was an AWESOME assembly! My favourite part was when the keyboard fell because i’m pretty sure it wasn’t on purpose. I also really liked when they sang the opera. Thanks for having these guys come here!

    Nick

    Reply
    1. missb (Post author)

      Hi Nick,
      Dave and Blake did a really great job, didn’t they? They are very talented. It’s too bad all schools don’t get to have the privilege of having them visit their school. Our principal was the one who invited them!! You’ll have to thank her!
      Miss B.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*